Ray Bradbury: A Man in Love

I originally had something different intended for today’s post, but upon reading the morning news on my New York Times App I decided that the subject of this headline deserved some attention:

“Ray Bradbury, Master of Science Fiction, Dies at 91”

I am not a huge Science Fiction buff, but Bradbury’s works were something I always enjoyed. My admiration for the author grew even more when I read an interview with him on CNN titled “Sci-fi legend Ray Bradbury on God, ‘monsters and angels'” in which he spoke out about his faith. My favorite part about it was the fact that most people don’t consider science fiction writers, or most fantasy writers for that matter, to be religious. I would guess that is an assumption based on a very selective definition of religious though, because it isn’t crazy for a Christian to have an active imagination too. Bradbury was a man who went to the boundaries in life and literature, one who defied the definite daily.

Michael Ochs Archives / Getty Images: Ray Bradbury in 1980

I want to share one section of that article that has really stuck with me as a great way to view faith:

The center of his faith, though, is love. Everything — the reason he decided to write his first short story at 12; his 56-year marriage to his muse and late wife, Maggie; his friendships with everyone from Walt Disney to Alfred Hitchcock — is based on love.

Bradbury is in love with love.

Once, when he saw Walt Disney, architect of the Magic Kingdom, Christmas shopping in Los Angeles, Bradbury approached him and said: “Mr. Disney, my name is Ray Bradbury and I love you.”

Bradbury’s favorite book in the Bible is the Gospel of John, which is filled with references to love.

At the center of religion is love,” Bradbury says from his home, which is painted dandelion yellow in honor of his favorite book, “Dandelion Wine.”

I love you and I forgive you. I am like you and you are like me. I love all people. I love the world. I love creating. … Everything in our life should be based on love.

Bradbury’s voice booms with enthusiasm over the phone. He now uses a wheelchair. His hearing has deteriorated. But he talks like an excitable kid with an old man’s voice.

Love. It truly is at the center of our faith, because the gospel is a story of love – it is the story of a God who loved His people so much that He sent His only son to reconcile the world back to Him, out of a love so vast we can hardly understand it. He loves us and forgives us, we are one in Him so that I am like you and you are like me, it all begins and ends with love.

May Bradbury rest in peace, as we can thank God for a man who was willing to defy the ordinary, to go beyond the boundaries, all for love.

Do you have any favorite Ray Bradbury books or stories?

How is your faith centered in love?

Leave a Reply

