Call Me CRAZY

I’ve been listening to this classic a lot lately – Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy.” Although it brings up nostalgic memories of high school for me, that’s not why I brought it back out of the closet. Nope this time its because I want to remind myself to live a little crazy.

Does that make me crazy?

Possibly.

Has anyone every called you crazy because of something you were doing for God?

Of all the things I have done in my life, there have only been a few where I was 100% confident it was a God thing, and that’s because for everyone one of them someone told me I was crazy.

The first time was when I decided to leave sunny Southern California to go to school in Chicago. No one understood, because you would have to be nuts to leave sunshine heaven for the hell of Chicago winters, but that’s how I knew it was what God wanted from me.

Next was deciding to take my chance at a long distance relationship with the guy I only started dating 3 months before graduation. I had tried long-distance once before and failed, so most people bet it wouldn’t last more than a semester. Again though, God has taught me so much through that relationship and we are still going strong.

Then came the decision to start a purity discussion group on campus. This one was especially crazy since I had asked one of my best friends advice on the idea and she thought it would fail, people just didn’t want to talk about sex anymore, we hear enough about it anyways. But I did it anyways, and saw God move in amazing ways.

Then there was my trip to India, and the following decision to apply to study abroad there. People have asked me: “Why go to India when there are cleaner, safer places you could travel too?” The only answer I have for them usually sounds like this: “Honestly I don’t know, I must be crazy, but that’s how I know it’s what I should do.”

And finally there was this blog. This time it was my own head that I had to silence, my doubtful low-confidence that thought I was crazy for doing such a thing. Especially when it came time to start talking about sex – I told myself I was crazy to do such a thing, and this would crash and burn. Yet again God showed up amidst the crazy to remind me no matter whose voice it is, whether it be the world, my friends, or even myself, they are all lies attacking the truth of God, the truth that says it’s the crazy things about God that are what make him so true.

I remember when, I remember, I remember when I lost my mind
there was something so pleasant about that place
even your emotions haven’t let go, in so much space

when your out there, ya out there, you were out of touch,
but it wasn’t because I didn’t know enough, I just knew too much

Does that make me crazy?
Possibly.

A friend and I recently sat in Starbucks, comfortable away from the summer heat with our iced teas and hipster music. Then we started talking about some of the scary things in our life, and some of the not so scary things in our life. The fact is, we felt God pulling us a lot more towards the scary things. As broken human beings we crave stability, security, and comfort – but those are the places where being a Christian is easy, and honestly, I don’t really feel like I’m doing the work of Jesus when things are easy.

We are always going to be in a place of transition, always busy with something else that tells us now is not the time to do something crazy for God. “I can’t do anything till I have my bachelors degree” or “I can’t do that till after I’m married” or “I can’t do that until I have a steady job.” We have lost the urgency Christians had in the beginning, the craziness of living a life that is so committed to God it can’t wait till tomorrow to do something about it.

Everyone thought Jesus was crazy, and they thought all his disciples were crazy, so I should be too (at least in a way that isn’t normal to the world around me). I need to start living life on the crazy side, because even though that is scary and hard those are usually the places God shows up.

Come on now, who do you, who do you think you are?
Hahaha bless your soul
You really think your in control?

Well, I think your crazy.

My heroes had the heart to live the life I want to live
and all I remember is thinkin I wanna be like them

So I want to be called crazy, but now I have to figure out how to do that.
Any ideas?

 
What have you done in your life that was a crazy God thing? 

Leave a Reply

