Worry Less, Write More

This officially counts as my seventh day in my month long goal to write every day. Here are some things I’ve learned so far:
 
  1. Miracles happen: My computer dried out completely and is working like it’s normal, albeit slow, self!
  2. Seven days can feel like a lot: I’ve said multiple times that I think time is a fickle, relative rascal. This week proved it again. I love writing, but doing it daily can be a chore when I also have to work, go grocery shopping, and entertain the idea of exercising.
  3. I have a surprising number of things to talk about: I used to wonder if I would end up rehashing the same topics and run out of new things to say. Turns out, my brain just keeps chugging.
  4. It is better to worry less and write more: In the past when I prepared to post something on the blog, I would spend days or maybe even weeks reading it over and making adjustments until I felt like it was really the best it could be. That kind of detail is called for at times, but I don’t think blogging needs to be that stressful. The best part of having to write every day is that I have an excuse to not over-analyze or over-edit.
I’m looking forward to continuing in this challenge, even though I have a busy week ahead of me. Ideally I will establish a more regular daily writing routine, but for now I write when I can and accept that I’m doing my best.

Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite authors, not because I love every one of her books but because she writes boldly and wrestles with culture to discover what is really important. As I venture into my second week of daily writing, I am keeping this quote from her in my mind as inspiration:

“Close the door. Write with no one looking over your shoulder. Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say. It’s the one and only thing you have to offer.”

Thanks for reading, and stay tuned for more!

How do you motivate yourself to meet your goals?
One thought on “Worry Less, Write More

Leave a Reply

